Press Release

2023 MIT Supply Chain Excellence Awards Given to 51 Graduating Students

Fifty-one top students from 10 leading undergraduate supply chain management and engineering programs across the United States and Mexico were awarded MIT fellowships at a ceremony held on April 24, 2023.

The MIT Supply Chain Excellence Awards are given annually to outstanding graduating supply chain management or industrial engineering majors at select institutions that have partnered with the MIT Center for Transportation and Logistics’s Supply Chain Management master’s program to expand opportunities for students to pursue graduate study and advance the field of supply chain and logistics.

Dr. Maria Jesus Saenz, the Executive Director of the MIT SCM master’s program, described the celebration as “a way to recognize the excellence of the undergraduate students from the partner universities we have with us. We have been working with these universities for more than a decade to recognize all of this talent, energy, and potential in terms of leadership and future impact on the supply chain world.”

Dr. Saenz was joined by supply chain management and engineering faculty and department chairs from Arizona State University, Lehigh University, Michigan State University, Monterrey Tech (Mexico), Penn State University, Purdue University, Syracuse University, Howard University, and Texas A&M University to recognize the fellowship recipients from their respective programs.

The program also featured remarks from a previous Supply Chain Excellence award recipient who is currently completing her master’s degree at MIT. Morgan DeHaan, who was awarded a fellowship in 2018, said,, “The award is a huge accomplishment, and I hope that you all feel very proud of yourselves and excited about the opportunity to study here at MIT in just a few short years.”

Concluding the ceremony, Dr. Saenz told awardees, “We are happy to be able to recognize this excellence with all these brilliant students and also to help them in their journey to provide a great footprint in the supply chain industry.”

This year, the MIT Supply Chain Excellence Awards program has provided more than $1.1 million in fellowship funding to 51 awardees from Arizona State University, Howard University, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, Lehigh University, Michigan State University, Monterrey Institute of Technology and Higher Education (Mexico), Penn State University, Purdue University, Syracuse University, and Texas A&M University.

Awardees can redeem their awards by applying and being admitted to the SCM program after gaining two to five years of postgraduate professional experience. Fellowship awards may be applied toward SCM master’s program tuition at MIT, or at MIT Supply Chain and Logistics Excellence (SCALE) network centers in Spain, Malaysia, Luxembourg, or China.

2023 MIT Supply Chain Excellence Award Recipients

Winners ($30,000 fellowship awards):

Sara Williams, Arizona State University

Sarah Herring, Arizona State University

Zain Sidhwa, Arizona State University

Je’Anne Wegner, Arizona State University

Miriam Kayongo, Howard University

Abagail Poulin, Lehigh University

Lucas Achman, Lehigh University

Morgan Heller, Lehigh University

Kevin Wang, Michigan State University

Mallory Johnson, Michigan State University

Peter Dillon, Michigan State University

Haley Liu, Michigan State University

Maryam Esho, Michigan State University

Elena Acosta Morales, Monterrey Tech

Andrea Vega , Monterrey Tech

Matthew Hinkle, Penn State University

Maria Karamanos, Penn State University

Caden Hazenstab, Penn State University

Jacob Krantweiss, Penn State University

Aidan Sommers, Purdue University

Samantha Oates, Syracuse University

John Zhang, Texas A&M University

Wathila Ekanayake, Texas A&M University

Enoch  Lee, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Patrick Jamison, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Amir Ubeid, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Honorable Mentions ($15,000 fellowship awards):

Kiran Ramakumar, Arizona State University

Neil Bhuyan, Arizona State University

Samuel Wegner, Arizona State University

Nicholas Chen, Arizona State University

Bhavisha Avlani, Arizona State University

Coby Wilkerson, Howard University

Jennifer Domenick, Lehigh University

Meghan Wood, Lehigh University

David Moore, Michigan State University

Dalety Julia Aveiro De Souza, Michigan State University

Michael Yamin, Michigan State University

Lizeth Garcia Bustamante, Monterrey Tech

María Andrea Ostos Cruz, Monterrey Tech

Justine Gutierrez-Mendoza, Monterrey Tech

Samuel Galicia, Monterrey Tech

Kyra Cunningham, Penn State University

Kellen  Shao, Penn State University

Michael Hurley, Penn State University

Rachael Snow, Purdue University

Conor Matson, Texas A&M University

Mihir Cherukumilli, Texas A&M University

Frida Cronqvist, Texas A&M University

Mackenzie Miller, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Patrick Dahlke, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Isis Clark, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign